The Night B4 the Night B4 Xmas…

Twas a night before Christmas, and all through the lot
Some people bounced balls, noses dripping with snot,
The square was drawn on the asphalt with care,
In hopes that hella players soon would be there.

The ballers were amped all ready for the games,
While visions of winning danced in their brains.
As cops in their cars made folks stash their booze,
The Square before Christmas featured a whole lot of Jews.

When out of the boombox there arose such a racket,
I sprung into action, with fly moves to match it.
All  in the Square, I soon rose to the top,
With all of my skill, there was no way I would stop.

The moon over Rockridge gave folks a great view,
Of me serving everyone, yes even you.
When, what to my wondering eyes should show up,
But more folks wanting to play, thinking they’re tough.

With a little old move, so lively and quick,
I got fools out with a monster slam hit.
More rapid than eagles these ballers they came,
And I whistled, and shouted, and called them by name!

“Now Liz! now, Greg! now, Justin and Lee!
C’mon, Caroline! C’mon, Robert! Three Mikes and a Keith!
What up Sam? What up Laura? Hey Eric and Lali!
I’ll get you out Martin, you’ll be hatin’ me prob’ly!”

And then, in a twinkling, I heard in the air,
Folks talking about how I should be out of A Square,
As I drew in my head, and was turning around,
They jumped into the square with a furious bound.

They were dressed all funny, with scraves round their faces,
Cutting in line and fighting about places,
A bundle of moves they introduced to the game,
But everyone who tried, got out just the same. .

Their eyes-how they cried! Their smiles were not there!
Why was it so serious, this game of 4 Square?
They talked mad shit, their temper was bitter,
One of them vowed to practice all winter.

I laughed in their faces, utterly certain,
That I would stay in, and their attitude worsened,
I jumped and I hit, showed guile and malice,
So much that a player cried “I 4 Square challenge!”

He was chubby and plump, a right jolly old elf,
And I laughed when I saw him, in spite of myself!
A wink of his eye and a twist of his head,
Soon gave me to know I had something to dread.

He spoke not a word, but went straight to his work,
Getting out players (they called him a jerk).
And laying his eyes firmly on me,
He raised up one finger, finger number three.

He sprang to the ball, the line gave a shout,
And away the ball bounced and then I was out!
I heard him exclaim, as he started to sing,
“It’s the night before Xmas, and I am the King!”

Leave a Reply

